Planting new seedlings is a vital part of maintaining a healthy ecosystem.
Education Through its newsletter and other activities, the Trust works to raise public awareness of Old Lyme’s unique and threatened natural resources. Its newsletter, Tributaries, is mailed to all town residents once a year. The Trust supports ecological research on its properties.

OLLT History
It started as an alliance to protect the Lieutenant River. But its scope widened when it was incorporated in 1966 as the Old Lyme Conservation Trust. The original signing officers were John Lohmann, Jeanne K. Clark and Russell L. Brenneman. In 2010 its name was changed to Old Lyme Land Trust to emphasize its primary mission—the protection of land.

The Trust’s first land holding was a small parcel of salt marsh donated by Belton Copp. In 1973, William and Connie Pike donated a 44-acre parcel of secluded woodland which became the Trust’s first preserve, known as Mile Creek. For a long time all land was acquired by donation. Many of the preserves bear the names of these very generous and foresighted donors. In 1988 the Trust bought a piece of property for the first time, saving the land from likely development. That purchase was the Elizabeth B. Karter Watch Rock Preserve.

spacerJuvenile Gray Tree Frog

Today the Trust owns over 1,000 acres of conservation land. We hold conservation easements permanently protecting additional acreage as well. And we have partnered with other groups—the Nature Conservancy and the Town of Old Lyme, for example—to enable their conservation land purchases.

The Trust has played a critical role in the preservation of open space in Old Lyme. We continue to actively seek available conservation land for acquisition. The need to protect the land and water resources of Old Lyme is as urgent as ever.

OLLT Officers, Trustees and Committees
OLLT has four officers who serve for terms of two years: President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. The Board of Trustees is made up of the four officers and not less than three, nor more than eleven, other members. Each trustee serves a term of three years, which can be renewed for a second term. Regular Board meetings are held in the evening on the second Thursday of every month.

Current officers and trustees:

Michael J. Kiernan, President Susanne Colten-Carey
Vice President (vacant) Claudio Denoya
Anne Galliher, Secretary Mary Devins
Sabine O'Donnell, Treasurer George James
  Edward L. Silk
  Edie Twining
  Tom Unger

Committees of the Board of Trustees:
Acquisitions, Stewardship, Outreach, Finance and Membership. Volunteers may serve on Board committees without being trustees.